Himachal Elections 2017: BJP declare Dhumal as CM candidate

Related Articles

Himachal Elections 2017: BJP declare Dhumal as CM candidateBJP national president Amit Shah has said that Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will contest the 2017 assembly elections under the leadership of Prem Kumar Dhumal in Himachal Pradesh. According to him, after December 18, Prem Kumar Dhumal will be the Chief Minister of Himachal.

Amit Shah said on this occasion that I believe that under the leadership of Dhumal, the Bharatiya Janata Party will form the government with a huge majority in Himachal Pradesh. The people of Himachal Pradesh want the BJP government, who should work together on the shoulder with PM Narendra Modi, the Congress government surrounded by the mafias and corrupt.

Significantly, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi had earlier declared Virbhadra Singh as his CM candidate for the Himachal assembly election 2017.

Senior BJP leader Dhumal is contesting from Sujanpur instead of his traditional seat Hamirpur this time. Hamirpur Lok Sabha constituency came into existence after the delimitation in the Sujanpur assembly seat of 2008. There were 65,006 voters inside this area in the 2012 assembly elections.

In this seat, two major parties of the state failed to occupy. Independent candidate Rajinder Singh had won this election with 14,166 votes, but this time BJP veteran leader and twice the state’s chief minister Dhumal has increased the difficulties of Congress and the present legislator by filing nomination from Sujanpur assembly.

Know, Who is Prem Kumar Dhumal?

73-year-old Prem Kumar Dhumal has been nominating Himachal Assembly constituency from Himachal Pradesh. For the first time in 1984, Dhumal contested the Lok Sabha election, although he had to face defeat. In the 1989 Lok Sabha elections, he won from Hamirpur seat.

In 1991, Dhumal again won from Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat. After this, the BJP appointed him the President of Himachal Pradesh unit. He faced defeat in the 1996 Lok Sabha elections. For the first time in the coalition government of BJP-Himachal Vikas Congress, he took over as CM From March 1998 to March 2003 he was the Chief Minister of the state. After that, he was the Chief Minister again from December 2007 to December 2012.

Earlier, the BJP had not declared CM candidate during Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand assembly elections. But in the Himachal assembly elections, the BJP has already announced the CM candidate while changing strategy.

More on this topic



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Popular stories

Uttarakhand’s First Laser & Cosmetic Gynae Clinic Inaugurated at CMI Hospital

Uttarakhand's First-ever exclusive clinic for Laser & Cosmetic Gynecology, “Laserwell, Laser & Cosmetic Gynae Clinic “ inaugurated on May 22, 2020, at CMI Hospital...

What did the WHO do wrong?

WHO's most important assets are credibility and authority. The WHO has lost a lot of capital due to awkwardness and failures in the corona crisis. Examples...

Kejriwal released guidelines, know – what will be open in Delhi from tomorrow, what will be closed

The Delhi government has released guidelines regarding lockdown 4.0. Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said in a press conference on Monday that the lockdown was used...